A reflection on 2015

Another year comes to a close. With the holiday season in full force, I realistically won’t be dedicating much time to writing until after the new year. My miniscule one-ish bedroom apartment is about to host two other people and a dog. Add an open floor plan, and that means very little writing going on in my downtime. So instead, I will focus on the goals I’m making for 2016.

2015 was my best writing year, yet. Despite lots of kinks in the story, I spent most of the year expanding my NaNo from 2014, writing forward to try to find an ending. I haven’t found the exact ending, but I’ve put some possibilities to paper. I put that aside to draft a new novel during November, and got myself into a similar situation — I don’t know exactly where this novel is headed or how it ends. But this time, I have a source material I am working with (a Brother’s Grimm story) and hopefully that will provide me with ideas on how to arc the story and bring it to a close.

I really, really want to force myself to at least outline the major plot points of the remainder of the story. I’m probably never going to be an intensive planner, and that’s fine, but I’m hoping to lay the foundation/provide direction, so I don’t end up with a 100,000+ word manuscript that has no end in sight — which is sadly where I am with my NaNoWriMo 2014 draft.

I think 2016 will be about moving on for me. Learning when to step back and reassess and when to push forward. And in more than just the writing part of my life.  With that in mind, I want to set some goals for 2016, and am currently pondering just how concrete I want to make them. Tune in on January 1 for the “big reveal.”

Leave a Reply

